SID

Wilhelmina McFadden is my name and slinging Punk Rock poetry is my game.

Sid Vicious

Sid Vicious (Photo credit: Alexander Danling)

 

SID

Sid, the knife stole my soul,

I fell deep into that hole,

Blackness raged,

The pain never aged – never forgotten

Like an old news story, the ink dried,

Chelsea Hotel, we all cried,

Bless me father for we all have sinned,

And that glass bottom boat made nothing clear,

Sid, if you could only hear,

In my heart I can forgive,

I will never stop my heart from bleeding,

I will never stop the world from hating,

But I will say a prayer each night,

That someday you and Nancy will reunite…

Sid Vicious, born John Simon Ritchie (10 May 1957 – 2 February 1979), was an English musician who was the bass guitarist of the punk group Sex Pistols. Vicious joined the Sex Pistols in early 1977 to replace Glen Matlock. Since his skills on bass guitar were highly questionable, Vicious only performed on one song on the band’s sole studio album Never Mind the Bollocks. During the brief drug-filled ascendancy of the Sex Pistols, Vicious met his girlfriend and manager Nancy Spungen, who died of a stab wound whilst staying in the Hotel Chelsea, Manhattan, with Vicious. Vicious died of a heroin overdose while on bail on suspicion of her murder.

by Wilhelmina McFadden

Leave a Reply

